What are the 7 stages of Alzheimer’s?

Accueil > Elderly Health Care > Alzheimer's Disease

 Alzheimer's disease is a progressive neurodegenerative condition that affects millions of people worldwide, including a significant number in the United Kingdom. Understanding the stages of Alzheimer's can be valuable for individuals, caregivers, and healthcare professionals alike. In this article, we'll explore the seven stages of Alzheimer's disease to provide insights into the progression of this condition and what to expect at each stage.  

Understanding the 7 Stages of Alzheimer's Disease

Stage 1: Preclinical Alzheimer's Disease

  • In the preclinical stage, individuals do not exhibit noticeable symptoms.

  • Brain changes associated with Alzheimer's, such as the accumulation of abnormal proteins, may begin to occur.

Stage 2: Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI) Due to Alzheimer's

  • Mild cognitive impairment represents noticeable cognitive changes but does not meet the criteria for a dementia diagnosis.

  • Memory problems and difficulty with tasks may be evident, but daily functioning is generally maintained.

Stage 3: Early-Stage Alzheimer's (Mild Alzheimer's)

  • In this stage, mild but noticeable cognitive decline becomes apparent.

  • Memory lapses, difficulty finding words, and challenges with problem-solving and planning may arise.

  • Individuals can still perform many daily tasks independently.

Stage 4: Moderate Alzheimer's (Moderate Cognitive Decline)

  • Moderate Alzheimer's involves more pronounced cognitive deficits.

  • Memory problems worsen, and individuals may struggle with tasks like dressing, bathing, and managing finances.

  • Behavioral and personality changes may occur.

Stage 5: Moderately Severe Alzheimer's (Moderately Severe Cognitive Decline)

  • At this stage, individuals require significant assistance with daily living activities.

  • Memory loss is substantial, and they may have difficulty recognizing familiar faces.

  • Behavioral and emotional symptoms may intensify.

Stage 6: Severe Alzheimer's (Severe Cognitive Decline)

  • Severe Alzheimer's entails a profound cognitive decline.

  • Individuals may lose the ability to communicate coherently and require assistance with all aspects of daily life, including eating and toileting.

  • Wandering, agitation, and aggressive behavior may emerge.

Stage 7: End-Stage Alzheimer's (Very Severe Cognitive Decline)

  • In the final stage, individuals often lose the ability to respond to their environment or communicate.

  • They may be bedridden, lose motor skills, and experience difficulty swallowing.

  • Medical complications become more prevalent, contributing to the end of life.

 Understanding the stages of Alzheimer's is crucial for providing appropriate care and support to individuals affected by this challenging condition. While Alzheimer's progression can vary from person to person, recognizing the common stages helps families and caregivers anticipate needs, plan for care, and ensure the highest possible quality of life for their loved ones throughout the journey of Alzheimer's disease.


Do you need a retirement home or Alzheimer's care facility for yourself or your loved one?

What type of residence are you looking for ?
In which region ?
What is your deadline ?
Leave your contact information below :

Find suitable accomodation for senior citizens